12 things I have learned my first year as a mama

Has it really been a whole year since the birth of my son?! Time sure flies in a blink of an eye! So much has happened since then. What an amazing year.

When I found out I was pregnant a month after we got married I was ecstatic and surprised! My mind started going crazy with so many questions! Was it a boy or a girl?! What are some ways I can prepare?! What will it be like to be a mother?! And on and on….

When that moment came when I was giving birth to my son my mind was a blur. I couldn’t believe the moment had come. I had waited 9 months for this moment. And it was here.

Right at the intense moment of pushing I felt like I couldn’t do it anymore. I yelled at my midwife asking if he was coming out!?! My midwife grabbed my hand and put it on top of my sons head and told me to look, I couldn’t believe my eyes! I could see my sons head!!! He was coming! Then my doula ( Who is my childhood best friend ) told me to get that baby out now!! With my husband behind me stroking my hair and praying, the strength I needed that I thought I didn’t have came out of no where and my son came out. It was over. My son was no longer in my womb but in my arms. And that’s when the adventure began.Unknown
Here are 12 things I have learned in the first year of being a mama:

1. That my own strength is as small as dust compared to the magnificent strength of God.

2. Peanut butter and jelly sandwiches are a must when you have a newborn and you have lots of nursing sessions throughout the night.

3. Having a baby has made my husband and I grow to love each other even more.

4. The smallest moments are the most important.

5. Coffee is no longer just an enjoyment. It is a necessity.

6. Sleep is gold. When getting to take a 30 minute nap feels like getting 3 hours.

7. No matter how hard motherhood is, the smiles and laughter of my child makes the hard moments disappear.

8. Learning to watch my words and actions. Knowing that my child hears what I say and watches my reaction to things I have become more conscious. Little children copy what we do as parents. 

9. My needs are not as important than the needs of my child.

10. Cherishing every season of life. No matter how hard it is or how wonderful.

11. Every moment alone with my husband is more cherished and beautiful.

12. Becoming a mother has made me a better and stronger person. 

Being a mother has been the hardest adventure I’ve been on so far but has been such an amazing one. I would not exchange it for the world! Motherhood is a beautiful journey. Yes there are times when it is very hard and I want to pull my hair out but those moments pass so quickly that I forget that I went through them.

I can’t wait to learn new things being a mom to a one year old. And to see my son grow and learn new things this year.

IMG_0054

Leave a Reply

