What kind of wife and mom do I want to be?

I was thinking this past week about what kind of wife does my husband see me as? Am I a true loving wife? Do I nag him a lot? Do I put his needs before my own?

What kind of mama do I portray to Caleb? Will Caleb see me as a patient mama? Will he see me as a mama who speaks words of kindness or who gets irritated quickly and speaks harsh words?

This really made me think of how do I speak and act around them every day.

12309044_10206861717134805_1800313478_n

I desire to be a wife and mama who truly loves her husband and son in her words and actions. If I want my son to grow up knowing who Jesus is then he needs to see Jesus in me.

I want my husband and son to see me as a wife and mama who:

-Loves at all times
-Forgives all things
-Serves those around me
-Thankful for everything
-Content no matter where we are in life
-Speaks words of kindness
-Happy in all circumstances
-Patient not matter what
-Works hard
-Enjoys life 

 
Whew! I’m kind of overwhelmed just typing out this list. How can I become all of these things? I continually fail every day. But I am a work in progress. Thankfully I don’t have to rely on myself to try to conquer these things. All I have to do is look to Christ. For He is all of these things and more. He never fails or messes up.

This is so important not just a a wife and mama but as a Christian. We are to show Christ to others in our words and actions. How can we talk about Jesus and yet live like the world!

I’m not perfect. But God is. I’m not the best wife and mama. But God is the best heavenly Father. There are days I get down on myself for messing up but I have to remind myself that tomorrow is a new day and God’s mercies are new every morning. ( Lamentations 3:22-23 )

After_All_Tomorrow_Is_Another_Day_1024x1024
I encourage all you ladies to strive each day to better yourself. Don’t focus on trying to fix other people when you need fixing yourself. Strive to be more like Jesus and those around you will see a difference and that will want them to change their ways.

When you wake up in the morning start the day with spending time with Jesus. We don’t know what will come our way each day. The only way we will be to handle the many things that will come is to lean on Him. He will help and strengthen you. You are not alone.

“The most beautiful women I’ve ever observed are those that have exchanged a self-focused life for a Christ-focused one. They are confident, but not in themselves. Instead of self-confidence, they radiate with Christ-confidence.” -Leslie Ludy

To all the mothers, here is a great magazine that will encourage you in your adventure of motherhood. Set Apart Motherhood

 

Leave a Reply

